*This post may contain affiliate &/or referral links, which means we may receive a commission if you click a link & purchase something. This helps support our site AND keeps it AD-FREE! Check our disclosure policy for more details. We thank you for your support.*

good being Beauty Box Review – August 2017

good being Beauty Box Review – August 2017

good being Beauty Box Review – August 2017

This is my 4th month receiving a good being beauty box. Good Being is a monthly subscription box for those interested in non-toxic beauty & lifestyle products. This month’s good being beauty box has 5 products with a value of $69.93. Even though there are less items in this month’s box {compared to July}, the value is slightly higher than last month’s box

find out which non-toxic beauty items were included in my good being box august 2017

GOOD BEING BEAUTY BOX – HOW DOES IT WORK? 

The cliff notes…

  • Subscribe to good being & receive a box every month with products based upon your initial survey answers. 
  • You get the option to choose 2 products every month

what's in my good being August non-toxic beauty box?

The detailed version…

  • Considering subscribing to good being?
  • Click here to read all the details on how it works. 
inspirational quote card in the good being beauty box

This quote is perfect for where I am in life at the moment. This will be going on my visual goal board.

WHAT’S IN MY GOOD BEING {AUGUST} BEAUTY BOX? 

MY 1ST GOOD BEING BEAUTY BOX PICK…

Honey Bee Gardens // Natural Mascara in “Black Magic” // full-size {6 mL} // $12.99 value 

I’ve never heard of this brand nor tried any of their products before, so I’m excited to try this non-toxic mascara! I received the mascara in “black magic”, but they also have espresso & chocolate truffle available too. 

Honey Bee Gardens Mascara

Non-toxic mascara by Honey Bee Gardens in the shade Black Magic

I didn’t realize it at first, but this mascara tube has a “see-through” section on the back. How cool? As soon as my favorite mascara by W3ll People reaches its 3-month toss-away date, I’ll be trying this one by Honey Bee Gardens. {By the way, the non-toxic W3ll People mascara is AMAZING!}

see-through mascara tube

This mascara tube reminds me of a gel pen.

 

MY 2ND GOOD BEING BEAUTY BOX PICK…

AROMATHERAPY MIST

Gypsy Soul Organics // Family Tree Aromatherapy Mist // full-size {2 oz.} // $19.99

I had really high hopes for this aromatherapy spray. When deciding which product to choose for my 2nd pick, the words “delicious coffee aroma” had me sold instantly. 

gypsy soul organics aromatherapy spray in good being beauty box

My info card says you can use me as a body mist, deodorant OR room spray.

What does it smell like? …

The info card describes it as layers of wood, spice & coffee… inspired by the aromas of walking in the woods – deep layers of earthy sleeping roots; rich, spicy notes & the lingering hint of a delicious coffee aroma …

What does it smell like to me?…

I don’t smell any of the coffee notes – it smells like an overwhelming spicy fall scent. I really, really, really wanted to love this, but it reminds me of cheap potpourri. 🙁

SUN BUTTER

Shamanuti // Sun Butter // 2 sample packets // $3.00 value

I’ll be honest, I don’t really quite understand the term “sun butter.” To me, sun butter sounds like an after-sun care product. Au contraire, after I read the info card for this item, it’s actually a UV-blocking moisturizer. The info card states that it’s safe for use on your face & body.

I went to their website & this product has 5-star reviews, with 1 reviewer stating that it’s light & breathable on the skin. This is great news, because so many sun-safe face products leave my face feeling suffocated. 

Shamanuti sun butter creme in good being beauty box

My info card says I’m packed with B Vitamins & I’m safe for the face & body.

 

9-FREE NAIL POLISH 

LondonTown // “9-free” nail polish in “Chuffed to Bits” // full size {12 mL} // $16.00 value 

I was thrilled to get a nail polish, but I was not thrilled by the color. What does “chuffed to bits” mean anyways? The name kinda turned me off… 

LondonTown non-toxic nail polish in august 2017 good being beauty box

Colors from L-R: Tea Time; Camden Chic & Chuffed to Bits.

I said, “what the hell… I’ll paint my nails & if I hate the color, I’ll just give it away.” Well… as it turns out, I’m so glad I gave this color a chance. It’s absolutely stunning! It has the same effect as shopping… something can look as ugly as sin on the rack, but absolutely stunning once you try it on. I’m sure there’s some science behind this odd phenomenon of thinking…

According to the info card…

“Highly pigmented colors result in dramatically different long-lasting wear.” Unfortunately, this polish started chipping on day 3. Although in their defense, I didn’t use their brand of a base coat & top coat… I think I’ll stick with Trust Fund Beauty – my favorite brand of non-toxic polish.  

9-free nail polish chuffed to bits

2 Coats of “Chuffed to Bits” by LondonTown with a base & top coat by Trust Fund Beauty.

FACE WASH

Z Skin // Acne Nighttime Exfoliating Face Wash // full-size {2 oz.} // $17.95

As long as it’s non-toxic, you can never have too much skincare. This is one of the reasons I love this box, it’s not just makeup! The hubster & I both get to try out this new-to-us skincare product.

Z Skin nighttime acne face wash in august good being box

Natural ingredients with a lovely scent.

I’m incredibly impressed with the ingredients… no crap! It has sweet smelling notes, cinnamon & a hit of peppermint, but it’s not overpowering. Since it does have some powerful ingredients, like tea tree oil, peppermint & eucalyptus, I’ll have to be extra-sure not to get it too close to my eyes. 

Z Skin acne nighttime exfoliating face wash

All natural & safe ingredients.

GOOD BEING BEAUTY BOX – MY AUGUST 2017 VERDICT

This month’s good being box had an incredible value of $69.93 with 4 full-sized products & 1 sample sized product. Subscription boxes are like boxes of chocolate, you never know what you’re going to get. {Yes, I totally included a Forest Gump reference.}With that being said, it’s not realistic to love every single item, even when you get to choose 2 products. 

Even though I’m not in love with the aromatherapy spray, all of the other items were a total win for me. This month’s good being beauty box still has a really good value & we will continue with our monthly subscription.  I’d love to know if you’ve tried any of the products we received &/or what your thoughts are! Until next time, 

SKIP THE TOXIC BEAUTY & SKINCARE PRODUCTS!

LOVE, PEACE & HAPPINESS, 

HIPPIE & SPARKY

 

Follow:

2 Comments

  1. August 19, 2017 / 5:59 pm

    That lakur looks GOOD on you! I keep trying blue polish but maybe it doesn’t go so well with my skin. Great review!

  2. Sabrina
    August 19, 2017 / 1:31 pm

    I love that this includes good skincare products! I’m very sensitive to all the chemicals in other products so this is good to see a review on!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *